PUBLIC NOTICE Emergency Meeting of the Vershire Selectboard

Emergency Meeting of the Vershire Selectboard


MEETING & NOTICE: Town of Vershire Selectboard
DATE: January 17, 2022
TIME: 5:00 PM
PLACE: Vershire Town Building & via Zoom


Call to Order

Agenda Review & Modification

 5:05pm – 5:25pm

Review Status of In-Person Meetings




Join Zoom Meeting Link:

Topic: Emergency Meeting re Return to Zoom

Time: Jan 17, 2022 05:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Meeting ID: 824 6851 8409

Passcode: 155768

Dial by your location

+1 929 205 6099 US (New York)

For link, go to


Amendments to ATV Ordinance Proposed

The Town of Vershire, under the authority granted in 24 V.S.A. Chapter 59, 24 V.S.A. 2291(4), and 23 V.S.A. 3510, has adopted amendments to its civil ordinance regulating the time, manner and location of operation of all-terrain vehicles on all town highways.  The amendments, clarifying the definition of what an “ATV” and revising the speed limit for all ATV’s, were adopted on January 7, 2022. The Purpose of this ordinance is to protect the health and safety of operators of all-terrain vehicles and of the residents of the Town and to protect the animals, property and environment of the Town.  Under the ordinance all ATV’s must be registered and operated according to the requirements of 23 V.S.A Chapter 31, and have a valid Vermont license plate attached to the ATV.

ATV’s will obey all traffic devices.  Speed limit for operation on town highways is 25 miles per hour. Time of day and year is also regulated. A petition may be filed under 24 V.S.A. 1973, the statute that governs the taking effect of this ordinance. 24 V.S.A. 1973 states, in part:

  • “An ordinance or rule adopted by a municipality may be disapproved by a vote of a majority of the qualified voters of the municipality voting on the question at an annual or special meeting duly warned for the purpose, pursuant to a petition signed and submitted in accordance with subsection (b) of this section.
  • A petition for a vote on the question of disapproving an ordinance or rule shall be signed by not less than five per cent of the qualified voters of the municipality, and presented to the legislative body or the clerk of the municipality within 44 days following the date of adoption of the ordinance or rule by the legislative body.
  • When a petition is submitted in accordance with subsection (b) of this section, the legislative body shall call a special meeting within 60 days from the date of receipt of the petition, or include an article in the warning for the next annual meeting of the municipality if the annual meeting falls within the 60-day period, to determine whether the voters will disapprove the ordinance or rule.”

A full copy of the ordinance is available at the Vershire Town office, 6894 VT Route 113, Vershire, VT 05079.  Comments and questions should be directed to Gene Craft, Town Clerk, either by mail or by calling 685-2227.  A copy can be downloaded by following this link; ATV Amendments Proposed





Due to the current forecast for extreme cold and subzero wind chills predicted for this Saturday, trash/recycling has

been rescheduled to Sunday, January 16, 2022, 7:00am – 12:pm

Vershire Selectboard


Highway Department is Back to Three Trucks!

The Vershire Highway Department had been using a borrowed plow truck from the State of Vermont until it could repair one of ours.  Our truck that needed computer parts has been repaired but is still being checked out to be sure there are no lingering issues.  Vershire has an exceptional and dedicated highway crew and they work hard everyday to keep the roads in Vershire safe for you to travel.